Our History

Founding

In 1873 Howard Snelling, who had moved from Boston to Lincoln, donated land for the site of an Episcopal church. Mr. Snelling and four members of Trinity Church in Boston raised funds for the church construction, which was completed in late fall 1873. The first service at St. Anne's was held on Easter Sunday 1874. The parish was never a mission and was dedicated as a parish June 1874. Fourteen families from Lincoln, as well as families from neighboring Wayland and Weston, were listed on the original parish roster. St. Anne's in 1889

During the early days of the parish, professors and students from the Episcopal Theological School in Cambridge often served St. Anne's as part-time clergy. At other times the parish shared clergy with nearby Episcopal parishes in Concord and Weston as a result of limited funds.

Rectors

The Reverend Morris Robinson, who served St. Anne's from 1945 to 1970, was the first resident full-time rector. It was during his tenure that Mr. Robinson added "in-the-Fields" to the church's name.

Since Morris Robinson, the parish has had five rectors: Stephen Apthorp (1970-77); Stephen White (1978-85); Mark Hollingsworth, Jr. (1986-94); Cathy H. George (1996-2008), and Kate M. Malin (2009–), our present rector.

Recent history

St. Anne's remains a vibrant community. During the past 15 years, many young families with children of Sunday School age have become St. Anne's todaypart of the parish family.

As it has from its earliest days, the parish continues to draw families from surrounding towns. Nearly 300 families are now listed on the parish roster.

 

 

Resources

The following books dealing with the history of St. Anne's are available in our Library:

St. Anne's in-the-Fields by The Centennial Committee, 1974

Lincoln by Lincoln: Reflections on a Massachusetts Town at 250 compiled by Mary Ann Hales, 2004 (ref. pp. 309-317)